Posted by: krmdgin | December 8, 2009

Suffer No Fools…

Life is too short to put up with folks like this. And we need to let them know that.

I’m not writing this for anyone but me (of course, this might be true of all my entries). Indeed, this might be a good one for you to skip over. In my next post, we’ll be talking about warm cuddly puppies, soft-baked home-made cookies, and other more pleasant topics, I promise. Right now however, I’m just not feeling all sweetness and light. So this it catharsis, nothing else.    

Deb reminds that it is a wise person who picks his battles carefully. And she also informs me that she’s had about enough of my battles for a while. I don’t blame her in the least. I’m kinda tired of them too. And while I don’t relish fighting battles all day long, some can’t be avoided.

Here’s one I have taken on. I am no longer willing to sit back and let someone get away with unethical behavior when that behavior reflects on or impacts me or the people I care about. I can excuse incompetence, ignorance and insensitivity. Those are all character flaws of omission. But unethical and uscrupulous behavior is a flaw of commission.    

When you act in such a manner, with intentionality, I have to call you on it.

The hell with the consequences.


Responses

  1. It really isn’t worth it! No one can really win in this type of situation. I have to believe that unethical behavior is eventually caught. I understand that it is very, very difficult to witness/experience it but sometimes the good guy doesn’t win. I say grin and bare it. Also, abandon ship when you can. This is one time when being selfish is the right thing!

    • Only I can appreciate the spirit in which this particular comment is offered, but I have to differ. I would argue that the good guy DOES always win. That does not mean that he might not suffer as a consequence of his actions – only that the suffering is worth the price. To ACT is to be selfish (as it remains true to self) – to NOT act would be defeat…


Leave a comment

Categories